2014-15 Finals Wrap-Up
Date of Event : Sun Mar 29, 2015 6:23PM
First Grade Limited Overs Grand Final team: Front row (L-R): Lynsey Askew, Sera Kaukiono, Alex Blackwell (captain), Mel Norup, Georgia Redmayne, Rachael Haynes. Back row: Kate Owen, Kara Sutherland, Emily Mifsud, Maisy Gibson, Kate Coppack, Leah Poulton, Felicity Goodwin.

Congratulations to everyone in the Club for another successful season! Each of our five teams played in the final series with First Grade picking up the Twenty20 premiership and our undefeated Brewer Shield (Under-17s) team won back to back Twenty20 and Limited Overs premierships.

This is an excerpt from
CricketNSW's wrap-up of the First Grade Limited Overs Grand Final:

Bankstown Sports went into the First Grade decider as distinct underdogs against a Universities side that had not lost a game all season.

Winning the toss and batting, Bankstown made 8-202 from their 50 overs. Kate Owen was the pick of the Universities bowlers with 3-36 from 10 overs, while Lynsey Askew took 2-25 from her 10 over spell.

Universities looked like they were cruising to victory at 1-120. However, the loss of opener Georgia Redmayne (37) triggered a collapse that saw the defending champions lose nine wickets for just 46 runs.

Alex Blackwell (42) was the next to go, caught behind from the bowling of Erin Burns before Prudence Roebuck took a spectacular catch at backward square leg to get rid of Leah Poulton (8).

At this stage Bankstown Sports were well and truly on top. Ashleigh Gardner (5-23) then ripped through the lower order with Universities bowled out for 166 in 46.2 overs.

Universities won the Brewer Shield (U/17) T20 premiership after beating Campbelltown-Camden in the Grand Final (more details to come). 


Last updated: Thursday June 4, 2015 2:47PM